New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Book Groups

 

Book Groups At Main

 

Branch Book Groups

  • Book Buzz: A Book Discussion With a Twist
    Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh wants to connect with you, where you are. This summer, join us for a new kind of book discussion: Book Buzz.
  • Genre Book Club
    Join us for a literary adventure as we explore and discuss a book from a different genre each month. Meets at CLP-Squirrel Hill on the third Wednesday of the month at 6 pm.
  • Smithfield Critics
    Join the Smithfield Critics, our popular Downtown & Business book discussion group, on the third Wednesday of every month for cookies, coffee and lively discussion of interesting and diverse books that span multiple genres. You never know how smart you can become! Sign up for our newsletter.
  • Squirrel Hill Adult Book Group
    The group reads primarily nonfiction (biographies, histories, witty commentaries) with a few fascinating novels and short story collections to round out the conversation each year. It generally meets on the fourth Thursday of the month at 1 PM.
 

Book Group Connections

In existence since 2001, Book Group Connections is a service offered by the New & Featured Department that provides book groups with information packets designed to enhance book discussions. Check it out!

 

CLP Book Discussions

Black Holes, Beakers, and Books: How I Killed Pluto and Why It Had It Coming
Main Library Director's Conference Room
Sunday, July 27 at 3:30 PM
Saturday Book Club
Woods Run
Saturday, August 2 at 10:30 AM
Let's READ English: Death of a Salesman
Large Print Room - Main
Friday, August 8 at 2:00 PM
Book Discussion
Woods Run
Tuesday, August 12 at 11:30 AM
Mystery & More Book Discussion
Brookline
Wednesday, August 13 at 1:00 PM
Red Herring Book Club: Trigger City
First Floor - New & Featured (Main Library)
Friday, August 15 at 1:00 PM
Between the Lines Book Discussion
Brookline
Monday, August 18 at 6:00 PM
Comics Decoded Book Club - Building Stories by Chris Ware
Large Print Room - Main
Monday, August 18 at 6:30 PM
Smithfield Critics Book Discussion Group
Downtown & Business
Wednesday, August 20 at 12:00 PM
Genre Book Club-Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
Squirrel Hill
Wednesday, August 20 at 6:30 PM
Time Out Book Club
Woods Run
Friday, August 22 at 10:30 AM
Reading Social Book Group: The Burgess Boys
Downtown & Business
Wednesday, August 27 at 12:00 PM
Mt. Washington Book Group
Mt. Washington
Wednesday, August 27 at 6:00 PM
Karen Russell's “Haunting Olivia” - Light Literary Lunch Club
Downtown & Business
Wednesday, September 3 at 12:05 PM
Saturday Book Club
Woods Run
Saturday, September 6 at 10:30 AM
Book Discussion
Woods Run
Tuesday, September 9 at 11:30 AM
Mystery & More Book Discussion
Brookline
Wednesday, September 10 at 1:00 PM
3 Poems by Percy Bysshe Shelley . . . Poetry Discussion Group
Classroom A - Main Library
Thursday, September 11 at 7:30 PM
Let's READ English: Ellen Foster
Large Print Room - Main
Friday, September 12 at 2:00 PM
Between the Lines Book Discussion
Brookline
Monday, September 15 at 6:00 PM