New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Book Awards

Pittsburgh Region

United States - Directories

United States - Awards

  • Academy of American Poets: Awards and Prizes
    A variety of prizes and awards that they grant.

  • Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) Literary and Related Awards
    The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) administers literary awards, including the Newbery, Caldecott, Sibert, Wilder, Carnegie, Batchelder, and Belpre Medals and the May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award.
  • Boston Globe - Horn Book Award
    Awarded for excellence in literature for children and young adults in the categories of Picture Book, Fiction, and Nonfiction. Site also lists other awards
  • Bram Stoker Awards
    Horror Awards from the Horror Writers Association.
  • Edgar Allan Poe Awards (Edgars) - Best Mystery Awards
    The Edgar Allan Poe Awards® (the "Edgars®") are named after the Mystery Writers Association's patron saint, Edgar Allan Poe, and are awarded to authors of distinguished work in various categories of the genre.
  • Great Lakes Book Awards
    Sponsored by Great Lakes Booksellers Association, the Great Lakes Book Awards were created to focus attention on deserving writers, books and publishers in America's heartland (of which Pittsburgh is on the edge...).
  • Hugo Awards
    Science fiction awards
  • Mountains & Plains Independent Bookseller Association Inc. Regional Book Awards
    The purpose of the Regional Book Awards is to honor outstanding books which are set in the Mountains & Plains “region”, which includes Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico, Utah, Idaho, Texas, Montana, Kansas, Arizona, Nebraska and South Dakota.
  • National Book Critics Circle (NBCC)
    An organization of nearly 700 active book reviewers that selects the best book in five categories: fiction, general nonfiction, biography/autobiography, poetry, and criticism.
  • The National Book Foundation (National Book Awards)
    The mission of the National Book Foundation is to raise the cultural appreciation of great writing in America. The Foundation has sought to fulfill this mission in two ways. Through The National Book Awards -- the nation's preeminent literary prize -- the Foundation recognizes books of exceptional merit written by Americans. Through its unique outreach programs featuring National Book Award authors, communities participate in the writing life of the nation by reading and writing together.
  • New England Booksellers Association Awards
    Presented annually by the New England Booksellers Association (NEBA), the New England Book Awards were established in 1990 to call attention to New England authors and publishers who have produced a body of work that stands as a significant contribution to the region's literature.
  • O. Henry Awards
    The O. Henry Awards is an annual collection of the year's best stories published in American and Canadian magazines and written by American or Canadian authors. They are compiled in an annual volume by Random House publishers.
  • Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Book Awards
    Since 1965 the PNBA has presented annual awards to recognize excellence in writing from the Pacific Northwest (by authors and/or illustrators residing within the five-state PNBA region (Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Montana, and Idaho).
  • Pulitzer Prizes
    containing the works and profiles of Prize winners past and present, from the Columbia Journalism Review
  • Reference & User Services (RUSA)
    The Notable Books Council of the ALA Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) compiles an annual list of "Notable Books for Adults" for the general adult reader containing recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, poetry; and an annual list of "Outstanding Reference Sources" for Small and Medium-sized Libraries.

International - Directories

  • BookTrust
    Use this site to search for new and forthcoming books, publishers and literary awards and prizes in the United Kingdom.
  • Canadian Children's Book Centre: Canadian Awards Index
    The Canadian Children's Book Centre maintains a comprehensive and up-to-date list of Canadian book awards for the writing and illustrating of books for young readers.
  • Christchurch City Libraries: Literary Prizes & Awards
    A compilation of awards and winning books and authors by a New Zealand public library. Very nicely done with links to websites if they exist.
  • National Book Service: Awards List
    This Canadian wholesale supplier of books to schools and public libraries provides lists of Award Winning Books for Children and Award Winning Books for Adults in Canada.

International - Awards

  • Premio Alfaguara de Novela
    The Alfagura Prize, an annual award for the best novel, is one the most prestigious awards in Spanish literature.
  • Man Booker Prize for Fiction
    Any full-length novel, written by a citizen of the British Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland and published the current year, is eligible for the prize.
  • Canadian Booksellers Association: Libris Awards
    CBA Libris Awards, nominated and voted on by members of the Canadian bookselling community, honour outstanding achievement in Canada’s bookselling industry.
  • The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award
    The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award was established in 1995 as a joint initiative of Dublin City Municipal Government and the productivity improvement company IMPAC. The Award is administered by Dublin City Public Libraries.
  • Nobel Prize in Literature
    Find out facts about all Nobel Prize Laureates in Literature through press releases, biographies, Nobel lectures, interviews, etc.
  • Costa Book Awards
    Formerly the Whitbread (Breweries) Award (Fiction). The award, administered by the Booksellers Association of Great Britain and Ireland, is for the best work of fiction written by an author who has lived in Great Britain or Ireland for over three years. From Wordsworth booksellers.
  • Orange Prize for Fiction
    The UK's largest annual literary award for a single novel and one of the most prestigious and influential awards in the literary calendar; its aim is to promote women writers to as wide a range of male and female readers as possible. The Prize is run by a Management Committee, administered by Book Trust and sponsored by Orange, the national digital wirefree phone service.
  • Premio Herralde de Novela
    A prize for the best novel in Spanish, organized by Spanish publisher Editorial Anagrama
  • Premio Planeta de Novela
    Spain's most lucrative literary prize.
  • YABBA: Young Australians' Best Book Award
    Each year children nominate Australian children's Fiction that has been published in the last ten years to create a short list. Then children vote for their favourite books.