New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes for 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

If you enjoyed the alternate realities in 1Q84, try one of these.

 

Ficciones

Think of Borges as the "heads" to Murakami's "tails" on the post-modern literary "coin"; or, preferably, don't think of either as either. Sink yourself whole into their translucent narratives and open your eyes. What can you discern? Where are those convenient lines between things? This collection of Borges stories is a wonderful spot to dive in and have a look around.

 

The Shooting Party

Have a look at the writing that inspired Murakami. In addition to 1Q84's obvious reference to Orwell's 1984, characters in 1Q84 talk about Chekhov. The Shooting Party, Chekhov's only full-length novel, is one of his earliest experiments in fiction, combining a gripping mystery with a story of corruption, concealed love and fatal jealousy.

 

Stranger in a Strange Land

Like 1Q84, Stranger in a Strange Land paints an alternate reality, a blend of fabulous fantasy and realism, in an epic, genre-bending novel. Meet the stranger from Mars, a human who has never seen a woman, whose mind-bending powers cast a spell over everyone he meets.

 

The Changeling

Listening to the recorded suicide of his brother-in-law prompts Kogito Choko to revisit their lives and history together. Filled with introspection and examination of life and love, this novel by Nobel Prize winner Oe has undertones of autobiography.

 

V.

Benny Profane's life changes dramatically when he befriends Stencil, an ambitious young man with a mission-to find the identity of a woman named V. Stencil hires Benny to travel with him to Malta in search of the mysterious entity.

 

Villa Incognito

Rich, lusty, enlightening, and baffling, Robbins gives us a story of American MIAs who chose to remain missing after the Vietnam War and a family in which four generations of strong, alluring women have shared a mysterious connection to an outlandish figure from Japanese folklore.

 
Sliding Doors

One morning a London publicist misses her train. Or does she? This movie moves effortlessly back and forth between the two parallel, but different, consequences of catching that train.