All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Wednesday, December 24, Thursday, December 25 and Thursday, January 1, 2015. In addition, the Library will close at 5 pm Wednesday, December 31, 2014.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes for The Magician King by Lev Grossman

Are you a grown-up fan of the Narnia series or Harry Potter? Then these books may enchant and delight you.

 

Brida

The journey of a young Irish woman, born with a Gift, who seeks to become a witch.

 

The Neverending Story

A sad, chubby little boy named Bastian is irresistibly drawn to a mysterious old storybook, which he steals. He flees to the attic of his school to read about a world of incredible characters, including the Childlike Empress who is terribly sick. At the same time, something terrible called the Nothing is destroying Fantastica, and Bastian becomes entwined in the story as the line between the two worlds becomes blurred.

 

A Swiftly Tilting Planet

The sensitive and intelligent teenager of the Murry family, Charles Wallace, is charged with saving the planet by changing the "might-have-beens" in history. A classic of literary fantasy.

 

The Wee Free Men

A young girl must find her own power, both magical and otherwise, as she tries to rescue her brother, who has been kidnapped by the Queen of the Faeries. Fortunately, she has the help of the small, blue, cantankerous, and rowdy Wee Free Men.

 

The Books of Magic, 1 - Bindings

Satisfy your fantasy cravings for The Magician's King with an alternate from one of the genre's masters, Neil Gaiman. In this graphic novel series, based on Gaiman's miniseries that John Ney Rieber continued, a teenager discovers he has the potential to be the world's most powerful wizard. To decide whether to accept this destiny, he explores magical alternate worlds full of fascinating characters. The best part? If you like it, there are several more volumes in the series.

 

Jitterbug Perfume

A quest for eternal youth turns into a philosophical magical carpet ride through time, Seattle, New Orleans, and Paris.

 

The Orphan's Tales, Vol. II, In the Cities of Coin and Spice

Valente reworks and weaves a number of fantastical tales together in this volume. Lovely black ink illustrations by Michael Kaluta.