All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Sunday, April 20.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: One Day

After you've enjoyed the humorous heartache of David Nicholls's latest love story, One Day, try one of these read-alikes.

 

Adverbs

Every short story in this collection is entitled with an adverb describing love: "Truly," "Not Particularly," "Briefly." The stories themselves cover all sorts of relationships gone wrong, unrequited, awkward and complicated. Famous for his Lemony Snickett children's series, the author includes his brand of witty wordplay in these adult stories, too.

 

84, Charing Cross Road

The relationship that develops between a writer/book lover from New York City and a gentlemanly bookseller in London is revealed through their correspondence of twenty years.

 

Tess of the D'Urbervilles

A reviewer wrote, "One Day is really about loneliness and the casual savagery of fate; the tragic gap between youthful aspiration and the compromises that we end up tolerating." In interviews the author of One Day said it was inspired by Hardy's novels, especially Tess. Tess offers a tragic dose of the casual savagery of fate, yet it's a stunningly beautiful novel.

 

A Long Way Down

Four people on the verge of suicide find that they're not alone when they end up at the top of the same building on New Year's Eve. And believe it or not, you will find yourself laughing.

 

The 158-Pound Marriage

Irving depicts with subtlety and complexity a sexy and destructive wife- and husband-swapping arrangement between two New England married couples.

 

Same Time, Next Year: A Comedy in Two Acts

This is a play about two people living separate lives with spouses they love, meeting each other for one weekend every year from 1951 to 1975. Wit and wisdom follow.