Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Contact Us
Site Map
Help

The Carnegie Library Home Page
About the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Borrowing and Circulation
Library Catalogs
Electronic Resources
Research and Specialized Services
Locations
Events and Classes



----------
----------


Subject Search:

Internet Search >

----------

Speculative Fiction

Join us for discussions of your favorite speculative fiction novels. Discussions are free and open to the public. No registration is necessary. Discussions are held in the Quiet Reading Room on the First Floor.


    Upcoming Discussions


    Monday, January 31, 2005
    6:30 - 7:30 PM
    Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
    By Douglas Adams
    Average guy Arthur Dent is rescued from the Earth shortly before it's blown up to make way for a Hyperspace Bypass. Using the cutting-edge technology of the Heart of Gold (a space ship run on the newly-developed "improbability drive"), he and his companions attempt to find out just what the deal is with this Universe, anyway.

    Monday, February 28, 2005
    6:30 - 7:30 PM
    My Soul to Keep
    By Tananarive Due
    This book is both a dark fantasy and a gripping thriller about Jessica and David Wolde, an African American couple who seem to be living the American dream. Can she accept the truth about her husband before it's too late, or will his lengthy past destroy everything she cares about?

    Monday, March 28, 2005
    6:30 - 7:30 PM
    Beauty: A Novel
    By Sheri Tepper
    Beginning with "Sleeping Beauty," the novel follows the adventures of the heroine, who avoids eternal slumber on a technicality. From there, she wanders through several fairy tales. Her travels take her into the future, where she learns about the fate of the world, and back into the past, where she decides to take matters into her own hands.

    Monday, April 25, 2005
    6:30 - 7:30 PM
    The Eyes of the Dragon
    By Stephen King
    Stephen King tries something different in this dark fairy tale. Watch as King Roland's power fails, and his advisor, Flagg, pits Prince Thomas against his brother the heir, Prince Peter. This book is especially fun for fans of The Stand or The Dark Tower series, but can be enjoyed by anybody.

  Return to New & Featured


Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Home · About Us · Borrowing · Catalogs · Resources · Services · Locations · Events/Classes · Kids · Teens · Contact · Site Map · Help · Search · Privacy Policy

© 2005 Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - First Floor, 4400 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA  15213
Phone: 412-622-3151 · Click here to contact us · Click here for directions